Rhody Awards for Historic Preservation

In 1993, the Rhode Island Historical Preservation & Heritage Commission launched the State Historic Preservation Awards to honor individuals, organizations, and projects for their contributions to the preservation of Rhode Island's historic resources. From 2009 to 2021, RIHPHC co-hosted The Rhody Awards for Historic Preservation with Preserve Rhode Island. As of 2022, the program is managed by Preserve Rhode Island.

Four awards pay tribute to individuals who exemplify Rhode Islanders' commitment to historic preservation. They are the highest honors which the Commission bestows. 

Antoinette F. Downing

The Antoinette F. Downing Award for Volunteer Service honors Rhode Island's founding Commission Chair.

Frederick C. Williamson

The Frederick C. Williamson Award for Professional Leadership honors our long-term State Historic Preservation Officer. 

John H. Chafee

The John H. Chafee Award for Public Service in Preservation honors Rhode Island governor, United States Senator, and friend of historic preservation and the natural environment. (photo courtesy of Providence Public Library)

Steve Tyson

The Stephen J. Tyson Sr. Artisan Award honors a master preservation carpenter who carefully restored hundreds of Rhode Island's historic landmarks.

Other awards salute achievements in education, advocacy, landscape preservation, sustainability, stewardship, planning, homeowner projects, and preservation projects.